Book Review: “The Saga of Darren Shan” by Darren Shan (Published on 2000-2004)


Fiction/Young Adult/Horror/Thriller (series: 12 books in total)

Book Plot:
Darren (a normal human) becomes Larten Crepsley’s (a vampire) assistant and therefore becoming a half-vampire against his own will. Now he has to deal with the changes in his body and so much more as he goes deeper into the vampires world and learns about his destiny.

Book Review:
Let’s start with the fact that I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this series! I seriously could not help but to give this one a 5 star rating! (my first 5 star on my blog so far)

So this series consists of 12 books which were published from the year 2000 until 2004. I will write the books name in order so you guys don’t get confused if you decide to buy it. (which you should because it’s amazing)

1. Cirque Du Freak
2. The Vampire’s Assistant
3. Tunnels of Blood
4. Vampire Mountain
5. Trials of Death
6. The Vampire Prince
7. Hunters of the Dusk
8. Allies of the Night
9. Killers of the Dawn
10. The Lake of Souls
11. Lord of the Shadows
12. Sons of Destiny

Oh and by the way guys there is also a manga version of this book published between 2006-2009 which was illustrated by Takahiro Arai! (how exciting!!! you get to actually see how the characters look!)
Again that’s 12 books but I’m not so sure what each book is called since I don’t own them (I will soon tho) but i’m quite sure it was published under the name of Darren Shan.


DO NOT watch Cirque du Freak movie before reading the book 🙂

Honestly guys, please read the book first. Or don’t even watch the movie at all. The movie is sooo different and the characters are just not what you would expect them to be. (especially Larten Crepsley! He does not LOOK or ACT like that!) I love this book so much and the movie felt like a slap in the face! It was just horrible 🙁

I’ve loved this series for more than 10 years and I have not yet found any other book that can replace it in my heart. I’ve read it three times and still enjoy and love it to this day. If you guys follow my Instagram or have read my reviews before, you know that I don’t usually read fantasy books and only recently started reading different genres so I can be fair when reviewing books for you guys, but this book is an exception. You could say my first and ever fantasy book. (since Uprooted totally ruined fantasy books for me and I don’t think I’d be reading one any time soon!)
I loved the characters, the plot and every little detail. Darren Shan did an excellent job with some amazing twists and played with my emotions like a symphony! I laughed and cried with this book! (literally cried because Oh My God I loved all the characters!!! except of course Mr. Tiny hahaha) The characters are so well developed and I can’t help but to wish each had their own saga. (Behold! Larten Crepsley actually does have his own saga! how amazing! I’ll be doing a review on that one soon too.)
There is this big vampire world out there that we don’t know about and the author portrayed it so well that one might think it’s real. (or wish lol) Then you have the opposing group of vampires which are called vampaneze and they are quite interesting creatures as well. I really love the history behind how vampires and vampaneze came to be and of course their differences.
This book has war, history, mythical creatures, magic, loyalty, friendship and even a little bit of love (not the cheesy type that you often see in vampire books and movies) all told through a teenagers’ eyes and even though all these seem so far from reality Darren Shan makes it possible to connect to these absolutely beautiful characters he has created.

I just can’t seem to say enough about how much I love his work! If money cooperates I will soon have all his books collected for my little home-library!

Favourite Quote:
“Real life’s nasty. It’s cruel. It doesn’t care about heroes and happy endings and the way things should be. In real life, bad things happen. People die. Fights are lost. Evil often wins.”

Little Dino off to read now ~~~

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *